ACT Writers Centre

2014 ACT Writing and Publishing Awards Shortlist

Banner ACTWCAwards

We are excited to announce the 2014 ACT Writing and Publishing Awards shortlist. The announcement of the winners will take place at 6pm Tuesday 16 December in the Courtyard at Gorman Arts centre. If you wish to attend, please RSVP to

The Anne Edgeworth Fellowship

Lisa Fuller
Sarah Mason
Zoya Patel
Rosanna Stevens

Marjorie Graber-McInnis Short Story Award

Christine Kearney, ‘Hookin In’
Cara Lennon, ‘The Loose Thread and the Sterile Needles’
Alison O’Hara, ‘The Garden House’
Ashley Thomson, ‘A White Woman in Ojin’

Michael Thwaites Poetry Award

Gregory A Gould, ‘Jack and Jill’
Robyn Lance, ‘Stilettos’
Susan McGrath, ‘Calling me in’
Kavya Robinson, ‘Implausible Birds’



Lesley Lebkowicz, The Petrov Poems
Geoff Page, Improving the News
Melinda Smith, Drag down to unlock or place an emergency call
Irene Wilkie, Extravagance


There is no shortlist for this category; the winner of the award will be announced on Tuesday 16 December.


Margitta Acker, Meat Pies and Mumbling Blokes – A Canberra Memoir
Kristen Alexander, Australian Eagles: Australians in the Battle of Britain
Scott Bridges, 18 Days – Al Jazeera English and the Egyptian Revolution


Tania McCartney, An Aussie Year
Joy McDonald, The Very Sad Fish-lady
Maree Teychenne, A Lion, a Whale and a Flea


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s